Hi new visitor! At Green & White we discuss startups, business models, new media marketing, usability and more.
You can subscribe to the RSS feed or subscribe for email alerts so that you keep up to date with the latest content. Now, on with the regular content...
I was mentioning to someone on dinner just the other day that there is a market for job-boards focused on H1-B jobs, and here we are with someone else already active with this idea.
Jobchowk.com is a job board for "students and H1-B visa holders" (emphasis mine). My guess is that they added this "holders" clause to avoid some further heat in an already controversial job board.
Companies in the U.S. cannot endorse job boards like this publically because of public-pressure to hire US citizens, but I think many departments would still want to hire H1-B holders. What’s likely to happen here is that "job placement" companies which act as proxies for those firms will advertise on jobchowk, and forward the candidates to appropriate positions - only the placement firm’s name appears publically.
For US companies that are open about hiring H1-B visa holders / seekers, this could become an interesting destination to look for jobs.
I’m not sure who the original creator of this job board is, or where he/she’s from.
| Written by Osama A. on 04/28/08 in PakStartup |






April 28th, 2008 at 3:18 pm
Looks useful for students with F1 visa and OPT iN USA to find jobs in US. They will know that companies posting on this website are open to hire non-US citizens.
I have received one email per day for the past two days in my account from Jobchowk.com. Not sure how they got me subscribed on their website.
April 28th, 2008 at 3:28 pm
jobchowk.com made some pretty strong neural connections with the word “SPAMMERS” in my brain yesterday, when I was spammed by this company on a temporary email account that I used specifically for posting a job ad last year. The address was probably harvested / bought by them.
Not a great first impression as far as I am concerned, but at least they know how to do things right, even if its spamming
April 28th, 2008 at 11:25 pm
very interesting comments because I recieved a similar email from them even though I don’t remember signing up for their newsletter or something.
April 29th, 2008 at 4:02 pm
Bodyshops are probably the primary employers on such a site, not sure anyone would want to work for one. And non-bodyshops wouldnt want to be caught with their names on it, both for political reasons and out of fear for being caught by the state department when filing for green cards.
Nonetheless, best of luck to the site owners!